Cruelty Free · dairy free · eco friendly · Meat Free · Reviews · The Green Living Guide · Vegan · Vegan Food · vegetarian · Vegetarian Food · Veggie

The Green Living Guide – Sainsbury’s Free From Chocolate Review

Hey there Teacups! I’m on a very important mission at the moment, I’m trying to find the best dairy free chocolate available in the uk!

So as anyone with common sense would, I decided to start off my mission with the free from chocolate that the UK supermarkets offer.

Of course I’ll be updating you all on how my mission is going over the next few months. But for today I’m starting off my series within a series with some Free From Chocolate from Sainsbury’s.

So as you’ll know if you follow me on Twitter I spend a lot of my time in the train station I’m either there to travel or to meet my other half, an their just so happens to be a smallish Sainsbury’s there too. I happened to pop in before a train journey not to long ago and I thought I’d pick up some of thier free from stuff to try out on my travels. ( For blog purposes of course )

I picked up some free from buttons (you’ll begin to see a running theme when it comes to buttons I love them.) A plain milk choc bar and a choc & orange bar.

      
The Choc Buttons

There’s not secret in the fact that I love chocolate buttons. Yes I know that they are just chocolate in different shapes but theres just something about them that makes them so much tastier.

So of course these were the first things I went for in the range when I popped into Sainsbury’s. I was filled with hope that these wouldn’t let me down. Ive been on the hunt for good buttons since I stopped eating normal chocolate.

I’m incredibly sad to say that I was a bit let down by these buttons. They hardly melted at all and were nowhere near as ‘milky’ as they could have been. The addition of a little bit of soya milk or rice milk would make these perfect. Overall they were sweet enough and I can definitely see what Sainsbury’s were trying to achieve with these.

TGLG Rating : šŸµšŸµ

Ingredients : Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Cocoa Mass, Rice Syrup, Inulin, Coconut Oil, Rice Flour, Flavourings, Emulsifier: Soya lecithin.


The Milk Choc Bar

Just like the buttons the bar could Choc bar could do with some added ‘creaminess’ it would be incredibly easy to do and would make this product absolutely perfect. That’s Seriously all it would take. One thing I will say that I loved about this bar was the size of it. Because of the sweetness of the bar to much of it can get a little sickly, but they sized this bar perfectly for it to be a nice sweet snack throughout the day.

TGLG Rating : šŸµšŸµ

Ingredients : Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Cocoa Mass, Rice Flour, Maltodextrin, Emulsifier: Soya lecithin, Vanilla Extract, Salt.


The Choc & Orange Bar

Now the Choc & Orange Bar was in a whole different level compared to the buttons and the plain Choc bar. I think that’s mostly down to the vanilla extract I’m a sucker for anything with vanilla in it and this was no different. Now I know you’ll probably question why i think it changed the flavour of this bar and not the other, and I honestly think that it’s because the citric acid that was added brings the vanilla to the forefront. I could be wrong but that’s what I’m going for,for now.

Again just like the other two product it could do with some added ‘milkiness’ but that’s really the only thing that took this product down a point for me. It’s exactly the same size as the original Choc bar so again would make a great small sweet treat at any time of the day.

TGLG Rating : šŸµšŸµšŸµ

Ingredients : Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Cocoa Mass, Rice Flour, Maltodextrin, Dextrose, Flavouring, Emulsifier: Soya lecithin, Vanilla Extract, Salt, Acid: Citric Acid


I’ll apologise now in advance if this post has made you hungry. I made myself hungry writing this so I wouldn’t be surprised.

As always you guys know if you have any questions at all just stick them in the comments and I’ll answer them as soon as I can.

Speak to you all again soon – Remember to smile at everyone you pass today you never know how much a simple smile could brighten someone’s day – Kimberley šŸµšŸ’–

Leave a Reply

