2017 · blog · blogger · Let's Talk Tea · tea · tea blogger · tea bloggers · tisane

Let’s Talk Tea – What’s The Difference Between – Teas & Tisanes. 


Hey there Teacups! I hope you’re all doing well. Today’s Let’s Talk Tea post is going to be an open answer to everyone who has asked me, over the last few months what the difference between a Tea & Tisane is.

The answer is incredibly simple : 

Tea comes from the Camellia Sinensis plant and all other ‘Teas’ are called Tisanes. A tisane is an infusion of herbs, flowers, spices or fruit. Typically tisanes are Caffeine Free: where as, caffeine is a natural characteristic of the Camellia Sinensis plant.

I realise that I probably should have cleared this up a while a go and not have spent months confusing you all … sorry about that. 

Thanks to the adventures I look into the amazing world of T2 teas/tisanes I found out the difference pretty quickly. It was certainly a whole new world to me at first. 


One thing I wish the tea industry would do, (both independent and established companies) is to table there blends properly. Not enough companies do this and it honestly gets on my nerves a little bit. Why market something as tea when in technical terms it doesn’t actually contain any tea at all 🤣 

The word “tisane” simply refers to any plant parts, excluding tea plants, that are used in conjunction with hot water, to make a hot beverage. It really is as simple as that. 

It’s not a word that I tend to hear to much these days, I’m just hoping that it slowly starts to be used a bit more within the industry. 

It’s all I’m asking of you tea industry just do this one thing for me! 


 

I really hope this posts helps answer this question for those who asked, and who knows maybe it will help make a little bit of a difference… *fingers crossed* 

As always you all know by now if you have any questions at all, be sure to stick them in the comments and I’ll answer them as soon as I can . 

Speak to you all again soon, Enjoy your teas and tisanes – Kimberley 💖🍵

12 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Tea – What’s The Difference Between – Teas & Tisanes. 

  1. I’ve been well aware of the term, but I can say as an American tea-addict it isn’t a very popular term here at all (I always wondered if, being a French-origin word, if it was more popularly used amongst European tea drinkers? I know that the New Zealander who frequents my blog uses the term frequently as well). Here I much more commonly just hear “herbal tea” used instead. And among herbal blends I’m a huge rooibos fan! I love how versatile it is, it seems to blend well with just about anything! I have a tea called “Blood-Orange Smoothie” that is an orange-vanilla rooibos that tastes like dreamsicle ice cream (it’s even great latte style with a bit vanilla almond milk).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

