2017 · blog · blogger · brand spotlight · HDYB · Let's Talk Tea · tea

Let’s Talk Tea – Shibui Leaf Tea. 

Hey there Teacups! I hope you’re all doing well in light of recent events, You’re all so strong so I know you will be 💖 

I’m back today with another let’s Talk tea post, this time around I would like to introduce you all to a great tea company by the name of Shibui Leaf Tea. Their Team were kind enough to send me some samples of a few of their blends, to talk to you all about. If you’ve got a major sweet tooth like I do then you are going to love these blends. 
Chocolate Cream Truffle 

‘This is a tea blend as delicious as its sounds. A delectable combination of sweet chocolate and creamy truffle is added to a mild black tea. Just looking at this delicious tea will get the taste buds going.’ 

Ingredients: Chinese black tea, broken cocoa bits, coconut shreds, chocolate chips, flavouring.
I’m incredibly picky with chocolate teas they can be super powdery sometimes and when they aren’t they can often taste quite artificial. Which is an aspect to teas that I absolutely do not want and will put me off straight away. So I was a little bit hesitant about trying this blend to begin with. 

But I was pleasantly suprised, this tea was so tasty! You could tell it was supposed to be a chocolate tea but it was very much a bottom note comapred to the black tea. If anything it could do with being slightly more chocolately. I tried this tea both hot and iced and I much preferred it hot with a dash of almond milk. There’s just something about cold brewed black tea that really puts me off. 

Overall Teacup Rating : 🍵🍵🍵

Tropical Green 

‘Try quiet contemplation with this blend of refreshing Sencha green tea with tropical fruits and a hint of ginger. Also an excellent thirst quencher in the summer when iced.’ 

Ingredients: Green Tea, Ginger, flavouring (Peach and Pineapple), Marigold Flower Petals.

Brewing: 3-4 minutes at approx. 80°C
This blend is one of the most refreshing green teas I’ve had in a while. I drink this tea Cold Brewed as that’s just how I prefer green tea, and it’s perfect for the hotter weather we’ve been getting recently. 

The fruity elements provided by the peach and pineapple flavourings provide the perfect summer vibe! I’ve currently got some Tropical Green ice pops in my freezer that I can’t wait to try once they’re done.

This is certainly a blend I will be drinking a lot of throughout this summer. 

Overall Teacup Rating : 🍵🍵🍵


Coconut Truffle 

Black tea, chocolate and coconuts – what’s not to like? We can’t provide Caribbean Island or the rum but we can provide a beautiful chocolate drink.

Ingredients: Chinese black tea, chocolate chips, white chocolate chips, broken cocoa bits, coconut flakes, flavouring.

I will admit that I went into trying this with preconceptions of what I thought it would taste like, I was not let down at all because this blend was delicious. Non of the notes were overpowering and blended so well together. What I liked the most about this blend is that the additional ingredients added to the tea didn’t take over the flavours of the black tea, if anything they enhanced it. This honestly reminded me of a bounty once added some almond milk and a little sweetener. I’m not a huge fan of iced black tea but I can imagine that if you are this would make the perfect replacement for a milkshake in the hotter months. 

Overall Teacup Rating : 🍵🍵🍵

Vanilla Cherry PU-ERH 


‘Quality puerh tea with the harmonious flavours of vanilla and cherry.’

Ingredients: Pu-erh tea, flavour, cherry pieces, vanilla.
I’m incredibly picky when it comes to Pu-erh, I’ve tried quite a few of them now some anybthey can either be incredible or absolutely disgusting and I would never normally say that about tea. Becuase what might not be my cup of tea will be someone else’s. 

Anyway back to this blend, this specific Pu-erh was 100% one of the most incredible Pu-erhs I have ever had the pleasure of drinking. The added sweetness provided by the vanilla and the cherry really put this blend on a whole new level. 

I’ve only tried this blend hot but I can imagine that it would probably make a rather refreshing cold brew! 

Overall Teacup Rating : 🍵🍵🍵🍵
Happy Vally Darjeeling (Organic) 


‘An aromatic blend of first and second flush leaf tea. Blended on site in the Happy Valley Estate located close to the city of Darjeeling, India.’

 Ingredients : Organic Indian black tea.
Anybody who knows me, knows that I LOVE Darjeeling tea. I had no doubt at all in my mind that this was going to be one of my favourites of the blends I was sent, and I wasn’t wrong! I actually loved this blend that much that I now have non of this left because I couldn’t get enough of it. Safe to say I’ll be ordering some more of this very soon. 

Overall Teacup Rating : 🍵🍵🍵🍵🍵
Caramel Rooibos 


‘Rooibos is recognised to be rich in antioxidents and this time it is sweetened by delicious chunks of caramel.’

Ingredients: South African rooibos, caramel pieces, flavour.
I’m not going to lie I’m not a huge fan of caramel in teas or Tisanes like this and that was 100% the case for this blend. No that’s not me saying it was horrible it was a really nice tea but it’s not one I would rush to by again. I wouldn’t say no if I were offered a cup but I wouldn’t choose it over something else. It’s definitely one for caramel lovers. 

Overall Teacup Rating : 🍵🍵
If you want to know more about Shibui Leaf Tea or purchase any of the tea and tisanes I mentioned in this post head to : https://www.shibui-tea.co.uk/

As always if you have any questions stick them in the comments below and I’ll answer them as soon as I can. 

Stay Strong , Stay Happy and Stay Safe – Happy Steeping – Kimberley 💖🍵 

Leave a Reply

