2017 · blog · blogger · Let's Talk Tea · Reviews · Sponsored · tea

 Let’s Talk Tea – Tea In The City* 


Hey there Teacups! I hope you’re all doing well. I’m back today with another instalment of my Let’s Talk Tea series. This instalment is going to be a brand Spotlight post, and this week the light is shining on the London based independent company Tea In The City. 

”The seeds of Tea in the City can be traced back to one tasting experience of our founder Thomas in China many years ago. That cup of tea opened a whole world of possibility, and he soon decided to advance his tea knowledge by learning from the people who actually make the tea: tea masters, tea farmers and tea producers in many countries around the world. His subsequent trips took him to many corners of China, Taiwan, Nepal, Georgia, Russia and Persia, all with an objective of understanding the tea plant and the amazing drink made from it. Sometime in the process, he realised that he had access the most spectacular teas ever produced. And so Tea in the City was born.

The mission of Tea in the City is to promote an authentic tea experience, through our company, as well as our trade partners. We focus on loose leaf in its pure form, allowing you to enjoy the natural flavours of tea achieved solely through the tea’s terroir, ie location, climate, altitude, soil, as well as the skill of the grower. We also want you to experience the luxury of a well-made cup of tea, by offering a carefully curated range of artisan teaware, with loose leaf tea brewing at their heart. Great tea can be inspiring, and inspired people go on to achieve grand things. Whether you are at the beginning, or well into your tea journey, let Tea in the City be your tea company of choice.” – http://www.teainthecity.com 

The amazing team over at Tea In The City were kind enough to send me a selection of their singal origin teas. 2 blacks , 2 greeens and 1 herbal. I will admit that I had not tried any of these teas before and I was really excited to be able to broaden my palette with them. 

So let’s get into the most important part of this post… Let’s talk about the tea! 

The Black Teas 

Yunnan Gold 


Place of Origin :Fengqing, Yunnan Province, China

Month and Year of Picking : April 2016

Tasting Notes : A full, ripe flavour, complemented by delicious hints of cocoa

The taste of this Yunnan Gold combines rounded caramel like sweetness with a smooth long lasting finish of spice; ginger, nutmeg and cloves though these notes are a little more subdued than others. The long golden buds of this tea produce a deep and dark infusion delivering a strength that is perfect for the morning. (Though I tend to drink this all through the day) 

You’ve probably heard of Yunnan before as the province in China is the true home of Puerh tea and is known for rich black teas. 

I have always been a fan of black teas so I knew that I was going to love this one no matter what. What I didn’t expect is that this tea would become a favourite for me. It’s pipped my favourite English breakfast tea to the post and I can tell it will be in my top spot for a while! I’m so sad that I’m almost out of what Tea In The City sent to me I’m going to be ordering some more before long. 

For me I drank this tea on its own I added no sweetener or milk as it was perfect for me without it. That’s what works for me but it is well And truly down to personal preference.


Georgian Black


Place of Origin : Ozurgeti, Georgia

Month and Year of Picking : May 2016

Tasting Notes :An aromatic cup with distinct berry notes

Distinct berry and floral notes blend with wood and a slight toffee sweetness in this bright golden liquor for a versatile and powerful cup.

I really enjoyed this tea, it’s not as much of a favourite for me as the Yunnan Gold but it up there beside it. Before being sent these teas I had never tried any teas from Georgia. So I was really intrigued as to how my pallet would react to them. Safe to say it reacted well and I’ll be trying for Georgian teas as soon as I get the chance. 

This tea for me was perfect on its own though I do believe it would be just as tasty with milk and sugar if that’s what you prefer. It would also be equally as tasty with just a slice of lemon. 

The Green Teas 

Anji Bai Cha 


Place of Origin : Anji, Zhejiang Province, China

Month and Year of Picking : April 2016

Tasting Notes : Subtly creamy with a delightful mineral finish

This green tea is the perfect balance of sweetness and umami, with minimum astringency.  It’s light bodied with floral top notes and leaves a lingering sweet after taste. 

Again before receiving these teas I had never tried Anji Bai Cha tea so I was a little bit hesitant in trying this one. I can be very picky when it come to green tea so I was nervous that I wouldn’t like this. 

When I finally tried this one I was almost a bit annoyed with myself for waiting so long , because this is one of the best green teas I have ever had the pleasure of drinking. 

Perfect : On It’s Own

Georgian Green 


Place of Origin : Ozurgeti, Georgia

Month and Year of Picking : May 2016

Tasting Notes : Fantastically fruity with a distinct apricot aroma

 The bright notes of apricot have a somewhat creamy quality to the mouthfeel which is complimented incredibly well by a pleasant slight astringency and a top note of grassy green tea.

I didn’t like this one as much as the Anji Bai Cha tea but that’s not to say that this one wasn’t great in its own right. It’s one one I would be an a hirrybtondeink again soon but I would never turn a cup of it down.

Perfect : On It’s Own. 


The Herbal Tisane(s) 

Rosebay Willowherb 
 

Place of Origin : Galtene, Latvia

Month and Year of Picking : July 2016

This is a very love it or hate it Herbal tisane it’s got an interesting acquired taste. To me it almost tastes like mulled wine, it has notes of elderberry, elderflowers and parsley and much more. It really is such a very deep blend but yet it almost manages to feel so delicate in terms of mouthfeel. 

If you’re a fan of mulled wine or elderflower wine you will love this blend. For me I wouldn’t say it’s a favourite but again I would never turn down a cup if offered. 

As always you know that if you have any questions about any of the teas mentioned in today’s post sick then in the comments and I’ll answer them as soon as I can.  

Use the code teaisawish15 to get 15% off your first order with Tea In The City ( Valid until May 31st 2017)

A huge thank you Tea In The City for sending me this great selection of teas to try out and introduce you guys to. They were a great company to work with and I’m sure I’ll be featuring them again at some point. 

Speak to you all again on Thursday, for now enjoy your tea – Kimberley 💖🍵

14 thoughts on “ Let’s Talk Tea – Tea In The City* 

  1. First of all: I love your new header!
    Second, I’d totally buy this brand just because the logos for the teas because they look so cool. Like something you’d put in an art journal

    x Envy
    verdwaaldinvertaling.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Firstly, I’m a sucker for tea so I’m really amped that I stumbled across your blog. The labels are great, I’d drink just to look at them lol and your gifs were the perfect touch!

    xx
    Leah
    therightdirections.wordpress.com
    (@ETTENOMHAEL)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That Yunnan Gold black tea sounds perfect to me! While I prefer black tea to green, I’m trying to keep my caffeine intake low, so the Georgian Green is probably the one I’d need to try. I’m a sucker for anything apricot flavored!

    xx
    Emily

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

