Uncategorized

Vegetarian Candy Corn! 

Happy Halloween Everyone! I know I don’t usually post on Mondays but I wanted to celebrate one of my favourite times of the year in style. 

As a vegetarian when I comes to Halloween I cant really each much of the candy that they sell in stores. So when I came across this recipe for vegetarian candy corn sI had to give this a go for myself.  

Ingredients 

2 tbsp Cashew nuts

3-6 tbsp Maple syrup / date syrup / any liquid sweetener

4½ tsp Of a veggie alternative to gelatin) I found mine in the baking isle of Tesco. 

1 tsp Vanilla extract

½ cup / 120 ml Orange juice (for the orange section)

1 cup / 240 ml Pineapple Juice

How to Make
Into a blender jug add the cashew nuts, 1-2 tbsp of your sweetener, the vanilla and a cup / 240 ml of water. Blend until smooth.

Pour the cashew mixture into a pan, add 1½ tbsp of your vegetarian gelatine a nd simmer for 5 mins on a low heat. Stir constantly to stop the bottom from burning.

Let the cashew mixture cool for 5 mins and then pour into a dish that’s about 6″ by 4″. Then place in the freezer.

Add the orange and carrot juice into a pan with 1-2 tbsp maple syrup, 1½ tbsp of vegetarian gelatin and bring to a boil then simmer for 5 mins.

Let the orange mixture cool for 5 mins then pour on top of the cashew layer in the dish and place back in the freezer.

Repeat steps 4-5 for the the pineapple juice.

The mixture should be set in 15 mins in the freezer. Once it feels firm take it out.

Push the sweet mixture out of the dish and then slice length ways.

Cut each slice into triangles.Store in the fridge and eat within 3 days as they contain fruit juice.

Here’s how mine turned out! And they ended up tasting quite good if I’m being honest they could have done with a lot more sugar and a little less cashew nuts (I think I used to much) I can definitely see these becoming a Halloween tradition for me and I’m hoping they will get better each year. 

Practice makes perfect right! 

If you guys have any questions about this recipie let me I’ll be happy to answer them. Leave them in the comments on this post or tweet me @teaisawishkim 💖

 
Happy Halloween everyone I’ll speak to you all again soon. – Kimberley 💖

Leave a Reply

